Overall Winners 2010 – Power of One Competition

in Awards, News

Our 2nd Year Green Travel Campaigning Team – The Sandwich Stops – Megan Davenport, Eva Dalton, Katie Devenny and Orlaith Donnelly – are the National Overall Winners of the Power of One Competition.

It began at 10 am in Dublin Castle. There was two rounds of judging which were quite hard as they were time limited. Throughout the day there was entertainment and refreshments provided. The award ceremony began after a three course meal. Aidan Power, presenter of the Cafe on RTE, was our host. Keynote speaker was Minister Eamon Ryan who came to our school three years ago to present prize giving.

Twenty teams were chosen from all over Ireland and the standard was very high. They started with the Junior Section which was the section we, as 2nd years, were in but there was no sign of our names being mentioned. We were happy with getting to the final but still a little disappointed. Then they moved on to the Senior Section followed by the overall winners of the whole competition… and we were announced as winners. We couldn’t believe we won competing against senior projects. It was an amazing day.

We want to thank Ms Bowe, Ms Dunne and The Green Committee also the 1st years, 2nd year art students and TY Photoshop class for all their help and support throughout our campaign. We’d also like to thank all the parents who have stopped parking in the cycle lane outside the school. Thank you for supporting the campaign. We won  €1,500 for the school, an ipod each and itunes vouchers. We received a plaque for the wall and a trophy. Thank you to Kathryn Poxon our Green Schools Travel Education Officer from An Taisce, who has been a constant support (emailing, providing prizes) and will be here next week giving the Dr. Bike workshops with Rothar for Bike Week. Thank you to the Power of One facilitators – the competition was really well organised.

Irish Times Press Coverage 7th May 2010

More news
Search news


News Archive